Transient solar wind phenomena and processes in the foreshock, at the bow shock, and in the magnetosheath are all drivers of significant downstream effects at the magnetopause, inside the magnetosphere, in the ionosphere, and on ground. These phenomena encompass, but are not restricted to, interplanetary magnetic field discontinuities and related hot flow anomalies or foreshock bubbles, foreshock cavities, cavitons and related spontaneous hot flow anomalies, as well as SLAMS and magnetosheath jets. The local effects of these phenomena may include severe changes in local plasma parameters, e.g., heating, compression or expansion, and deflection of plasma. Further downstream, they may be associated with significant magnetopause dynamics including magnetic reconnection, inner-magnetospheric waves and changes in the radiation belt electron populations, geomagnetic variations, ionospheric flow enhancements, particle precipitation, and auroral forms.
We invite contributions focusing on these upstream phenomena, their (downstream) effects, and the coupling between them, i.e., the transport of mass, momentum, and energy, across and between the bow shock and magnetopause boundaries, not only at Earth but also at other planets and solar system bodies. We encourage the presentation of latest results based on in-situ measurements (including the Geotail, Cluster, THEMIS/ARTEMIS, MMS, and Van Allen Probes), on ground-based observations (e.g., magnetometers, radars, riometers, and all-sky imagers), as well as on numerical simulations and theoretical modelling. Presentations of studies using any combination of the above approaches are particularly welcome.

Convener: Ferdinand Plaschke | Co-conveners: Xochitl Blanco-Cano, De-sheng Han, Heli Hietala, Lucile Turc
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room L8
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room L8

Chairperson: F. Plaschke, L. Turc, H. Hietala
08:30–08:45 |
Olga Gutynska, Lucile Turc, Yann Pfau-Kempf, Jana Safrankova, Zdenek Nemecek, and Minna Palmroth
08:45–09:00 |
Yufei Hao, Quanming Lu, Dejin Wu, Xinliang Gao, and Shui Wang
09:00–09:15 |
Savvas Raptis, Tomas Karlsson, and Per-Arne Lindqvist
09:15–09:30 |
Marius Echim and Gabriel Voitcu
09:30–09:45 |
Martin Archer, Heli Hietala, Michael Hartinger, Ferdinand Plaschke, and Vassilis Angelopoulos
09:45–10:00 |
Shiva Kavosi, Harlan Spence, Joseph Fennell, Drew Turner, and Joachim Raeder
10:00–10:15 |
Gautier Nguyen, Dominique Fontaine, Nicolas Aunai, Alexis Jeandet, and Vianney Choimet