Transient solar wind phenomena and processes in the foreshock, at the bow shock, and in the magnetosheath are all drivers of significant downstream effects at the magnetopause, inside the magnetosphere, in the ionosphere, and on ground. These phenomena encompass, but are not restricted to, interplanetary magnetic field discontinuities and related hot flow anomalies or foreshock bubbles, foreshock cavities, cavitons and related spontaneous hot flow anomalies, as well as SLAMS and magnetosheath jets. The local effects of these phenomena may include severe changes in local plasma parameters, e.g., heating, compression or expansion, and deflection of plasma. Further downstream, they may be associated with significant magnetopause dynamics including magnetic reconnection, inner-magnetospheric waves and changes in the radiation belt electron populations, geomagnetic variations, ionospheric flow enhancements, particle precipitation, and auroral forms.
We invite contributions focusing on these upstream phenomena, their (downstream) effects, and the coupling between them, i.e., the transport of mass, momentum, and energy, across and between the bow shock and magnetopause boundaries, not only at Earth but also at other planets and solar system bodies. We encourage the presentation of latest results based on in-situ measurements (including the Geotail, Cluster, THEMIS/ARTEMIS, MMS, and Van Allen Probes), on ground-based observations (e.g., magnetometers, radars, riometers, and all-sky imagers), as well as on numerical simulations and theoretical modelling. Presentations of studies using any combination of the above approaches are particularly welcome.

Convener: Ferdinand Plaschke | Co-conveners: Xochitl Blanco-Cano, De-sheng Han, Heli Hietala, Lucile Turc
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room L8
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Attendance time: Monday, 8 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall X4

Chairperson: F. Plaschke, L. Turc, H. Hietala
X4.213 |
Jaroslav Urbar, Zdenek Nemecek, Jana Safrankova, and Lubomir Prech
Hall X4
X4.214 |
Gilbert Pi, Jana Safrankova, and Zdenek Nemecek
Hall X4
X4.215 |
Daniel Graham, Yuri Khotyaintsev, Andris Vaivads, Mats Andre, Per-Arne Lindqvist, Barbara Giles, Christopher Russell, James Burch, Robert Ergun, and Roy Torbert
Hall X4
Hall X4
X4.217 |
Markus Battarbee, Yann Pfau-Kempf, Urs Ganse, Lucile Turc, Thiago Brito, Maxime Grandin, Tuomas Koskela, Maxime Dubart, and Minna Palmroth
Hall X4
X4.218 |
Harald Kucharek, Antoinette Galvin, Noe Lugaz, and Charles Farrugia
Hall X4
X4.219 |
Karim Meziane, Christian Mazelle, Abdelhaq Hamza, David L. Mitchell, Jared R. Espley, Jasper S. Halekas, Emmanuel Penou, and Bruce Jakosky
Hall X4
X4.220 |
Jinsong Zhao, Tieyan Wang, Malcolm Dunlop, Jiansen He, Xiangcheng Dong, Chen Shi, Dejin Wu, Christopher Russell, and Barbara Giles
Hall X4
X4.221 |
Maxime Dubart, Urs Ganse, Adnane Osmane, Verscharen Daniel, Klein Kristopher, Grandin Maxime, Brito Thiago, Battarbee Markus, Pfau-Kempf Yann, Turc Lucile, and Palmroth Minna
Hall X4
X4.222 |
Hairong Lai, Christopher Russell, and Yingdong Jia
Hall X4
Hall X4
X4.224 |
Oleksandr Goncharov, Herbert Gunell, Maria Hamrin, and Tomas Karlsson
Hall X4
X4.225 |
Minna Palmroth, Tomas Karlsson, Lucile Turc, Savvas Raptis, Jonas Suni, Markus Battarbee, Thiago Brito, Maxime Dubart, Urs Ganse, Maxime Grandin, and Yann Pfau-Kempf
Hall X4
X4.226 |
Anna Salohub, Jana Safrankova, Zdenek Nemecek, Gilbert Pi, Kostiantyn Grygorov, and Jiri Simunek
Hall X4
X4.227 |
Kostiantyn Grygorov, Zdenek Nemecek, Jana Safrankova, and Jiri Simunek
Hall X4
X4.228 |
Egor Yushkov, Anton Artemyev, and Anatoli Petrukovich
Hall X4
Hall X4