The “Theory and Simulation of Solar System Plasmas” session solicits presentations of the latest results from theoretical investigations and numerical simulations in space plasma-physics from microscopic to global scales, in comparison with experiments and observations in the heliosphere: at the Sun, in the solar corona, in interplanetary space and in planetary magnetospheres. Each year a topic of special interest is chosen as a focus of the session. For 2019 this focus will be on the sun. Of particular interest is to understand plasma heating and particle acceleration processes as well as the resulting observable radiation processes. We encourage presentations of theory and modelling results directly relevant to current and forthcoming space missions, notably MMS, the Parker Solar Probe, Solar Orbiter and Bepi Colombo

Convener: Shangbin Yang | Co-conveners: Philippa Browning, Jörg Büchner, Giovanni Lapenta
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room 1.61
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 1.61

Chairperson: Joerg Buechner
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Bruce Tsurutani, Gurbax Lakhina, and Abhijit Sen
14:15–14:30 |
Marian Lazar, Shaaban Mohammed Shaaban, Rodrigo Lopez, Stefaan Poedts, and Horst Fichtner
14:30–14:45 |
Jinsong Zhao, Heyu Sun, Huasheng Xie, and Dejin Wu
14:45–15:00 |
| solicited
Thomas Neukirch and Thomas Wiegelmann
15:00–15:15 |
Neeraj Jain and Joerg Buechner
15:15–15:30 |
Jian-Sen He, Wenzhi Ruan, Limei Yan, Lei Zhang, Linghua Wang, and Yong Wei