The ionospheres and magnetospheres of weakly magnetized bodies with substantial atmospheres (e.g. Mars, Venus, Titan, Pluto and comets) are subject to disturbances due to solar activities, interplanetary conditions, or parent magnetospheric environments (e.g. solar flares, coronal mass ejections and solar energetic particles), sharing similarities with their magnetized counterparts but with scientifically important differences. As an integral part of planetary atmospheres, ionospheres are tightly coupled with the neutral atmosphere, exosphere and surrounding plasma environment, possessing rich compositional, density, and temperature structures. The interaction among neutral and charged components affects atmospheric loss, neutral winds, photochemistry, and energy balance within ionospheres. This session invites abstracts concerning remote and in-situ data analysis, modeling studies, comparative studies, instrumentation and mission concepts for weakly magnetized solar system bodies. Topics such as dayside and nightside ionospheric characteristics and variability, ion-neutral coupling, and responses of the ionized and neutral regimes to transient space weather events are especially encouraged.

Convener: Martin Volwerk | Co-conveners: Niklas Edberg, Charlotte Götz, Beatriz Sanchez-Cano
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L8
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room L8

Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
14:00–14:15 |
Herbert Gunell, Charlotte Götz, Cyril Simon Wedlund, Jesper Lindkvist, Maria Hamrin, Hans Nilsson, Kristie LLera, Anders Eriksson, and Mats Holmström
14:30–14:45 |
Gangkai Poh, Jared Espley, Jacob Gruesbeck, and Gina DiBraccio
14:45–15:00 |
Nicolas Gilet, Pierre Henri, Orélien Randriamboarison, Gaëtan Wattieaux, Anders Eriksson, Ilka Engelhardt, Nima Traoré, Xavier Vallières, Jérôme Moré, Elias Odelstad, and Fredrik Johansson
15:00–15:15 |
Ferdinand Plaschke, Tomas Karlsson, Charlotte Götz, Christian Möstl, Ingo Richter, Martin Volwerk, Anders Eriksson, Etienne Behar, and Raymond Goldstein
15:15–15:30 |
Elias Odelstad, Anders Eriksson, Mats André, Daniel Graham, Hugo Breuillard, Charlotte Goetz, Erik Vigren, Kei Masunaga, Hans Nilsson, Pierre Henri, and Tomas Karlsson
15:30–15:45 |
Zachary Girazian, Jasper Halekas, Donald Gurnett, David Morgan, František Němec, Andrew Kopf, and Feng Chu