The ionospheres and magnetospheres of weakly magnetized bodies with substantial atmospheres (e.g. Mars, Venus, Titan, Pluto and comets) are subject to disturbances due to solar activities, interplanetary conditions, or parent magnetospheric environments (e.g. solar flares, coronal mass ejections and solar energetic particles), sharing similarities with their magnetized counterparts but with scientifically important differences. As an integral part of planetary atmospheres, ionospheres are tightly coupled with the neutral atmosphere, exosphere and surrounding plasma environment, possessing rich compositional, density, and temperature structures. The interaction among neutral and charged components affects atmospheric loss, neutral winds, photochemistry, and energy balance within ionospheres. This session invites abstracts concerning remote and in-situ data analysis, modeling studies, comparative studies, instrumentation and mission concepts for weakly magnetized solar system bodies. Topics such as dayside and nightside ionospheric characteristics and variability, ion-neutral coupling, and responses of the ionized and neutral regimes to transient space weather events are especially encouraged.

Convener: Martin Volwerk | Co-conveners: Niklas Edberg, Charlotte Götz, Beatriz Sanchez-Cano
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L8
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Attendance time: Wednesday, 10 April 2019, 14:00–15:45 | Hall X4

Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.102 |
Kai Fan, Markus Fraenz, Yong Wei, Eduard Dubinin, Jun Cui, Zhaojin Rong, Weixing Wan, James Mcfadden, and Jack Connerney
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.103 |
Markus Fränz, Eduard Dubinin, Kai Fan, Lukas Maes, Jasper Halekas, and James McFadden
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.104 |
Riku Jarvinen, Markku Alho, Esa Kallio, and Tuija Pulkkinen
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.105 |
Anita Linnéa Elisabeth Werner, François Leblanc, Jean-Yves Chaufray, and Ronan Modolo
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.106 |
Feng Chu, Zachary Girazian, Donald Gurnett, David Morgan, Jasper Halekas, and Andrew Kopf
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.107 |
Erik Vigren and Anders I. Eriksson
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.108 |
Beatriz Sanchez - Cano, Mark Lester, Pierre-Louis Blelly, Olivier Witasse, Marco Cartacci, Roberto Orosei, Hermann Opgenoorth, Robert Lillis, François Leblanc, Stephen E. Milan, and John M.C. Plane
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.109 |
Niklas J. T. Edberg, Anders I. Eriksson, Fredrik L. Johansson, Erik Vigren, Elias Odelstad, Charlotte Götz, and Hans Nilsson
Chairperson: Martin Volwerk
X4.110 |
Lukas Maes, Markus Fraenz, and James McFadden