Significant uncertainties exist in our understanding of the CO2 and CH4 fluxes between land or ocean and atmosphere on regional and global scales. Remotely-sensed CO2 and CH4 observations provide a significant potential for improving our understanding of the natural carbon cycle and for the monitoring of anthropogenic emissions. Over the last few years, remote sensing technologies for measuring CO2 and CH4 from space, aircraft, and from the ground made great advances and new passive and active instruments from different platforms became available offering unprecedented accuracy and coverage.

This session is open to contributions related to all aspects of remote sensing of the greenhouse gases CO2 and CH4 from current, upcoming and planned satellite missions (e.g., OCO-2, TanSat, Sentinel 5P), as well as ground-based (e.g., TCCON), aircraft, other remote sensing instruments. This includes, e.g., advances in retrieval techniques, instrumentational concepts, and validation activities, but we specifically encourage contributions that focus on the interpretation of observations in respect to natural fluxes or anthropogenic emissions.

Convener: Maximilian Reuter | Co-conveners: Hartmut Boesch, Dietrich G. Feist, Sander Houweling, Justus Notholt
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room 0.11
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room 0.11

Chairperson: Max Reuter
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Yukio Yoshida, Haruki Oshio, Yu Someya, Hirofumi Ohyama, Akihide Kamei, Isamu Morino, Osamu Uchino, Makoto Saito, Hibiki Noda, and Tsuneo Matsunaga
11:00–11:15 |
| Highlight
Thomas P. Kurosu, Annmarie Eldering, Ryan P. Pavlick, Brendan M. Fisher, and Gregory B. Osterman
11:15–11:30 |
Mathias Strupler, Dylan Jervis, Jason McKeever, David Gains, Daniel Varon, and Stephane Germain
11:30–11:45 |
Huilin Chen, Joram Hooghiem, Rebecca Brownlow, Rigel Kivi, Pauli Heikkinen, Markus Leuenberger, Peter Nyfeler, Michel Ramonet, Morgan Lopez, Andreas Engel, Thomas Wagenhaeuser, Emma Elvidge, Johannes Laube, Bianca Baier, Colm Sweeney, Thorsten Warneke, Mahesh Kumar Sha, Minqiang Zhou, Cyril Crevoisier, and Francois Danis
11:45–12:00 |
James Wang, Tomohiro Oda, Stephan Kawa, Sarah Strode, Lesley Ott, and Steven Pawson
12:00–12:15 |
Jean-Matthieu Haussaire, Dominik Brunner, Julia Marshall, Hugo Denier van der Gon, Arjo Segers, Anna Agusti-Panareda, and Gianpaolo Balsamo
12:15–12:30 |
Julia Marshall, Amir Hossein Abdi, Tonatiuh Nuñez Ramirez, Axel Amediek, Andreas Fix, Martin Wirth, and Gerhard Ehret