Stable isotopes and other novel tracers, such as carbonyl sulfide (COS) and clumped isotopes, help to identify and quantify biological, chemical and physical processes that drive Earth's biogeochemical cycling, atmospheric processes and biosphere-atmosphere exchange. Recent developments in analytical measurement techniques now offer the opportunity to investigate these tracers at unprecedented temporal and spatial resolution and precision.

This session includes contributions from field and laboratory experiments, latest instrument developments as well as theoretical and modelling activities that investigate and use the isotope composition of light elements (C, H, O, N) and their compounds as well as other novel tracers for biogeochemical and atmospheric research.

Topics addressed in this session include:
- Stable isotopes in carbon dioxide (CO2), water (H2O), methane (CH4) and nitrous oxide (N2O)
- Novel tracers and biological analogues, such as COS
- Polyisotopocules ("clumped isotopes")
- Intramolecular stable isotope distributions ("isotopomer abundances")
- Analytical, method and modelling developments
- Flux measurements
- Quantification of isotope effects
- Non-mass dependent isotopic fractionation and related isotope anomalies

We are really excited to announce our solicited speakers:

Dr Laura Meredith
The University of Arizona

Prof. Thomas Röckmann
Utrecht University

Co-organized as AS5.28
Convener: Lisa Wingate | Co-conveners: Matthias Cuntz, Jan Kaiser, Alexander Knohl
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L2
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall A

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room L2

Chairperson: Lisa Wingate, Jan Kaiser
14:00–14:15 |
Laura Meredith, Alejandro Cueva, Till Volkmann, Jana U'Ren, Esther Singer, Joost van Haren, and Peter Troch
14:15–14:30 |
Thomas Röckmann, Maria Elena Popa, Getachew Adnew, Amzad Laskar, Rahul Peethambaran, Magdalena Hofmann, Dipayan Paul, Christof Janssen, Johannes Schwieters, Gerbrand Koren, Wouter Peters, Jakub Surma, Nina Albrecht, and Andreas Pack
14:30–14:45 |
| Highlight
Margaux Brandon, Amaelle Landais, Stéphanie Duchamp-Alphonse, Violaine Favre, Léa Schmitz, Héloïse Abrial, Frédéric Prié, Thomas Extier, and Thomas Blunier
14:45–15:00 |
Tobias Kluge, Ivan Prokhorov, and Christof Janssen
15:00–15:15 |
Eliza Harris, Elena Stoll, Benjamin Wolf, David Kraus, Johannes Ingrisch, David Reinthaler, and Michael Bahn
15:15–15:30 |
Erkan Ibraim, Tobias Denk, Benjamin Wolf, Matti Barthel, Rainer Gasche, David Kraus, Wolfgang Wanek, Shasha Zhang, Ralf Kiese, Klaus Butterbach-Bahl, Sarah Eggleston, Lukas Emmenegger, Johan Six, and Joachim Mohn
15:30–15:45 |
Teresa E. Gimeno, Courtney E. Campany, Craig M. V. Barton, and John D. Marshall