Stable isotopes and other novel tracers, such as carbonyl sulfide (COS) and clumped isotopes, help to identify and quantify biological, chemical and physical processes that drive Earth's biogeochemical cycling, atmospheric processes and biosphere-atmosphere exchange. Recent developments in analytical measurement techniques now offer the opportunity to investigate these tracers at unprecedented temporal and spatial resolution and precision.

This session includes contributions from field and laboratory experiments, latest instrument developments as well as theoretical and modelling activities that investigate and use the isotope composition of light elements (C, H, O, N) and their compounds as well as other novel tracers for biogeochemical and atmospheric research.

Topics addressed in this session include:
- Stable isotopes in carbon dioxide (CO2), water (H2O), methane (CH4) and nitrous oxide (N2O)
- Novel tracers and biological analogues, such as COS
- Polyisotopocules ("clumped isotopes")
- Intramolecular stable isotope distributions ("isotopomer abundances")
- Analytical, method and modelling developments
- Flux measurements
- Quantification of isotope effects
- Non-mass dependent isotopic fractionation and related isotope anomalies

We are really excited to announce our solicited speakers:

Dr Laura Meredith
The University of Arizona

Prof. Thomas Röckmann
Utrecht University

Co-organized as AS5.28
Convener: Lisa Wingate | Co-conveners: Matthias Cuntz, Jan Kaiser, Alexander Knohl
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room L2
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall A

Attendance time: Tuesday, 9 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall A

Chairperson: Jan Kaiser, Lisa Wingate
A.327 |
Thomas Röckmann, Sergey Gromov, Amzad Laskar, and Rahul Peethambaran
Hall A
A.328 |
Amzad Laskar, Rahul Peethambaran, Sergey Gromov, Thomas Blunier, and Thomas Röckmann
Hall A
A.329 |
Rahul Peethambaran, Amzad Laskar, Sergey Gromov, Elena Popa, and Thomas Röckmann
Hall A
A.330 |
Sam Jones, Aurore Kaisermann, Jérôme Ogée, Steven Wohl, Alexander Cheesman, Lucas Cernusak, Jon Lloyd, and Lisa Wingate
Hall A
A.331 |
Chao Gu, Adrian Bass, and Susan Waldron
Hall A
A.332 |
Andrew Smith, Steve Welsh, Helen Atkinson, and Melanie Leng
Hall A
A.333 |
Antje Hoheisel, Ellis King, and Martina Schmidt
Hall A
A.334 |
Joseph Roscioli, Joanne Shorter, Laura Meredith, Juliana Gil Loaiza, and Till Volkmann
Hall A
Hall A
A.336 |
Sarah Albertin, Joël Savarino, Nicolas Caillon, Jean Martins, and Albane Barbero
Hall A
A.337 |
Benjamin Nyilitya, Pascal Boeckx, Joyce Irungu, and Stephen Mureithi
Hall A
A.338 |
Moein Mellat Ardakani, Hannah Bailey, Kaisa Mustonen, Hannu Marttila, Aino Erkinaro, Pete D. Akers, Eric S. Klein, and Jeffrey M. Welker
Hall A
A.339 |
Anna Pierchala, Kazimierz Rozanski, Przemysław Wachniew, Marek Dulinski, Łukasz Chmura, Piotr Kukielka, Zbigniew Gorczyca, and Robert Czub
Hall A
A.340 |
Hannah Bailey, Kaisa-Riikka Mustonen, Eric Klein, Annalea Lohila, and Jeffrey Welker
Hall A
A.341 |
Jürgen Schleucher, Thomas Wieloch, Henrik Serk, John Marshall, Mats Nilsson, and Pieter Zuidema
Hall A
A.342 |
Christos Panagiotopoulos, Amel Nouara, Jérôme Balesdent, Kalliopi Violaki, Edouard Bard, Yoann Fagault, Daniel Repeta, and Richard Sempéré