Monitoring and modeling of vegetation and ecosystem dynamics is fundamental in diagnosing and forecasting Earth system states and feedbacks. However, the underlying ecosystem processes are still relatively poorly described by Earth system models. Confronting terrestrial biogeochemical models at multiple temporal and spatial scales with an ever-increasing amount and diversity of Earth observation data is therefore needed.

To this end, the rapidly growing amount of satellite data has fostered the development of novel global satellite products of vegetation and ecosystem properties (such as fluorescence, microwave vegetation optical depth, biomass, multi-sensor climate data records, new high resolution products), which complement more traditional products, like NDVI, LAI or fAPAR. In this session, we present the most recent advances in:

(1) the production of global land surface biophysical and biochemical variables from satellite observations;

(2) assessment of plausibility, validation and intercomparisons of these products;

(3) their use in studying global ecosystem dynamics related to, e.g., climate variability and change;

(4) benchmarking and improvement of global vegetation models through statistical analysis and model-data integration techniques.

The latter may consider methodological foci or include applications related to the monitoring and modeling of terrestrial vegetation and ecosystem dynamics for timescales from days to decades, also including multiple data streams.

Convener: Jean-Christophe Calvet | Co-conveners: Nuno Carvalhais, Wouter Dorigo, Matthias Forkel, Mariette Vreugdenhil
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30
Room 2.25
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall A

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 2.25

Chairperson: J.-C. Calvet
08:30–08:45 |
Gustau Camps-Valls, Diego Bueso, and Maria Piles
09:00–09:15 |
| presentation
Basil Kraft, Markus Reichstein, Martin Jung, Marco Körner, Christian Requena Mesa, and José Cortés
09:15–09:30 |
Susan Steele-Dunne, Sebastian Hahn, Wolfgang Wagner, and Mariette Vreugdenhil
09:30–09:45 |
Leander Moesinger, Wouter Dorigo, Matthias Forkel, Richard de Jeu, Robin van der Schalie, Tracy Scanlon, and Irene Teubner
09:45–10:00 |
Antonio Bombelli, Daniele Peano, Stefano Materia, Alessio Collalti, Andrea Alessandri, Alessandro Anav, and Silvio Gualdi
10:00–10:15 |
Lei Fan, Jean-Pierre Wigneron, Philippe Ciais, Jérome Chave, Martin Brandt, Rasmus Fensholt, Sassan S Saatchi, Ana Bastos, Amen Al-Yaari, Koen Hufkens, Roberto Fernandez Moran, Arnaud Mialon, Nemesio Jose Rodriguez-Fernandez, Yann Kerr, Feng Tian, and Josep Penuelas
Coffee break
Chairperson: W. Dorigo
10:45–11:00 |
| Highlight
Gregory Duveiller, Federico Filipponi, Sophia Walther, Christian Frankenberg, Philipp Kölher, Luis Guanter, and Alessandro Cescatti
11:00–11:15 |
Gerardo López Saldaña, Jose Gomez-Dans, Feng Yin, Nicola Pounder, and Phillip Lewis
11:30–11:45 |
Vincent Humphrey, Pierre Gentine, and Sonia Seneviratne
11:45–12:00 |
Shrutilipi Bhattacharjee, Jia Chen, and Anja Rammig
12:00–12:15 |
Sophia Walther, Gregory Duveiller, Martin Jung, Luis Guanter, Alessandro Cescatti, and Gustau Camps-Valls
12:15–12:30 |
Gregory Quetin, Anthony Bloom, Kevin Bowman, and Alexandra Konings