Monitoring and modeling of vegetation and ecosystem dynamics is fundamental in diagnosing and forecasting Earth system states and feedbacks. However, the underlying ecosystem processes are still relatively poorly described by Earth system models. Confronting terrestrial biogeochemical models at multiple temporal and spatial scales with an ever-increasing amount and diversity of Earth observation data is therefore needed.

To this end, the rapidly growing amount of satellite data has fostered the development of novel global satellite products of vegetation and ecosystem properties (such as fluorescence, microwave vegetation optical depth, biomass, multi-sensor climate data records, new high resolution products), which complement more traditional products, like NDVI, LAI or fAPAR. In this session, we present the most recent advances in:

(1) the production of global land surface biophysical and biochemical variables from satellite observations;

(2) assessment of plausibility, validation and intercomparisons of these products;

(3) their use in studying global ecosystem dynamics related to, e.g., climate variability and change;

(4) benchmarking and improvement of global vegetation models through statistical analysis and model-data integration techniques.

The latter may consider methodological foci or include applications related to the monitoring and modeling of terrestrial vegetation and ecosystem dynamics for timescales from days to decades, also including multiple data streams.

Convener: Jean-Christophe Calvet | Co-conveners: Nuno Carvalhais, Wouter Dorigo, Matthias Forkel, Mariette Vreugdenhil
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30
Room 2.25
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall A

Attendance time: Tuesday, 9 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall A

Chairperson: M. Forkel
A.353 |
Maite Lezama Valdes, Marwan Katurji, and Hanna Meyer
A.354 |
Zunyi Xie, Stuart Phinn, Edward Game, Richard Hobbs, David Pannell, and Eve McDonald-Madden
A.356 |
Mariette Vreugdenhil, Sebastian Hahn, Wouter Dorigo, Susan Steele-Dunne, and Wolfgang Wagner
A.357 |
Isabella Pfeil, Mariette Vreugdenhil, Matthias Forkel, Wouter Dorigo, and Wolfgang Wagner
A.360 |
Pengjuan Yao and Daoyi Gong
A.361 |
Nari Kim, Bora Lee, Eun-Sook Kim, and Yang-Won Lee
A.362 |
Daniel García, Fernando Aguilar, Ignacio Heredia, Alvaro Lopez, and Jesus Marco de Lucas
A.363 |
Anna Mateo Sanchis, Jose Adsuara, Maria Piles, Adrián Perez-Suay, Jordi Muñoz-Marí, and Gustau Camps-Valls
A.364 |
Mathieu Gravey and Mariethoz Gregoire
A.365 |
Irene Teubner, Matthias Forkel, Gustau Camps-Valls, Martin Jung, Diego Miralles, Gianluca Tramontana, Robin van der Schalie, Mariette Vreugdenhil, Leander Mösinger, and Wouter Dorigo
A.367 |
Yuzhen Zhang and Shunlin Liang
A.369 |
Sebastian Preidl, Maximilian Lange, and Daniel Doktor