Accurate and precise atmospheric measurements of greenhouse gas (GHG) concentrations reveal the rapid and unceasing rise of global GHG concentrations due to human activity. The resulting increases in global temperatures, sea-level, glacial retreat, and other negative impacts are clear. In response to this evidence, nations, states, and cities, private enterprises and individuals have been accelerating GHG reduction efforts while meeting the needs of global development. The urgency, complexity and economic implications of GHG reductions demand strategic investment in science-based information for planning and tracking emission reduction policies and actions. In response, the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Global Atmosphere Watch Program (GAW) and its partners have initiated the development of an Integrated Global Greenhouse Gas Information System (IG3IS). IG3IS combines atmospheric GHG concentration measurements and human-activity data in an inverse modeling framework to help decision-makers take better-informed action to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases and pollutants that reduce air quality. This service is based on existing and successful measurement and analysis methods and use-cases for which the scientific and technical skill is proven or emerging.
This session intends to gather presentations from researchers and decision-makers (user-community) on the development, implementation and use of atmospheric measurement-based “top-down” and data-driven “bottom-up” GHG emission inventory estimates, and the combination of both approaches, explicit in space and time, to deliver actionable emissions information at scales where human activity occurs and emission reduction is most effective. This session is part of the EGU General Assembly 2019 30th anniversary celebration of the WMO’s Global Atmosphere Watch Program and its commitment to science-based services.

Co-organized as BG1.67/CL3.02/ERE1.6
Convener: Phil DeCola | Co-conveners: Tomohiro Oda, Oksana Tarasova
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room 0.11
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room 0.11

Chairperson: Phil DeCola
14:00–14:15 |
Greet Janssens-Maenhout, Bernard Pinty, Mark Dowell, Hugo Zunker, Ana-Maria Danila, Philippe Ciais, Dick Dee, Hugo Denier van der Gon, Han Dolman, Richard Engelen, Martin Heimann, Kenneth Holmlund, Anastasios Kentarchos, Yasjka Meijer, Paul Palmer, Marko Scholze, and Thomas Brunhes
14:15–14:30 |
Sara Mikaloff Fletcher, Kay Steinkamp, Gordon Brailsford, Dan Smale, Zoe Buxton, Peter Sperlich, Elizabeth Keller, Troy Baisden, Benedict Spaan, Briton Stephens, and Stuart Moore
14:30–14:45 |
Andrea K. Kaiser-Weiss, Buhalqem Mamtimin, and Christian Plass-Dülmer
14:45–15:00 |
Ronald Cohen, Jinsol Kim, Alex Turner, Alexis Shusterman, Paul Wooldridge, Helen Fitzmaurice, and Catherine Newman
15:00–15:15 |
Israel Lopez-Coto, Xinrong Ren, Olivia Salmon, Anna Karion, Paul Shepson, Russell Dickerson, Ariel Stein, Kuldeep Prasad, and James Whetstone
15:15–15:30 |
Thomas Lauvaux, Kim Mueller, Xinxin Ye, Kevin Gurney, Michel Ramonet, Philippe Ciais, Masahide Nishihashi, Yukio Terao, Ken Davis, Scott Richardson, Natasha Miles, Riley Duren, and Tomohiro Oda
15:30–15:45 |
Fouzi Benkhelifa and Sarah Dubreil
Coffee break
Chairperson: Oksana Tarasova
16:15–16:30 |
| Highlight
Euan Nisbet, David Lowry, Rebecca Fisher, and James France
16:30–16:45 |
Detection of anthropogenic methane emissions to the atmosphere and characterization of their d13C signature in urbanized and industrialized regions : the first mobile surveys in the Paris megacity area
Irène Xueref-Remy, Giulia Zazzeri, François-Marie Bréon, Felix Vogel, Philippe Ciais, David Lowry, and Euan Nisbet
16:45–17:00 |
| Highlight
Riley Duren, Andrew Thorpe, Vineet Yadav, Kelsey Foster, Robert Tapella, Brian Bue, Daniel Cusworth, Kristal Verhulst, Stanley Sander, Charles Miller, Francesca Hopkins, and Talha Rafiq
17:00–17:15 |
| Highlight
Heinrich Bovensmann, Sven Krautwurst, Alina Fiehn, Anke Roiger, Konstantin Gerilowski, Jakob Borchardt, Sarah-Lena Meyer, Andreas Fix, Jaroslaw Necki, Justyna Swolkień, Axel Amediek, Patrick Jöckel, Michał Gałkowski, and Christoph Gerbig and the COMET Team
17:15–17:30 |
Stephan Henne, Joachim Mohn, Markus Leuenberger, Martin Steinbacher, Simon A. Wyss, Lukas Emmenegger, and Dominik W. Brunner
17:30–17:45 |
Rachel Tunnicliffe, Anita Ganesan, Matthew Rigby, Mark Lunt, Rob Parker, and Hartmut Boesch
17:45–18:00 |
Shamil Maksyutov, Aki Tsuruta, Rajesh Janardanan, Fenjuan Wang, Akihiko Ito, Motoki Sasakawa, Toshinobu Machida, Isamu Morino, Yukio Yoshida, Johannes Kaiser, Greet Janssens-Maenhout, Ed Dlugokencky, and Tsuneo Matsunaga