Accurate and precise atmospheric measurements of greenhouse gas (GHG) concentrations reveal the rapid and unceasing rise of global GHG concentrations due to human activity. The resulting increases in global temperatures, sea-level, glacial retreat, and other negative impacts are clear. In response to this evidence, nations, states, and cities, private enterprises and individuals have been accelerating GHG reduction efforts while meeting the needs of global development. The urgency, complexity and economic implications of GHG reductions demand strategic investment in science-based information for planning and tracking emission reduction policies and actions. In response, the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Global Atmosphere Watch Program (GAW) and its partners have initiated the development of an Integrated Global Greenhouse Gas Information System (IG3IS). IG3IS combines atmospheric GHG concentration measurements and human-activity data in an inverse modeling framework to help decision-makers take better-informed action to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases and pollutants that reduce air quality. This service is based on existing and successful measurement and analysis methods and use-cases for which the scientific and technical skill is proven or emerging.
This session intends to gather presentations from researchers and decision-makers (user-community) on the development, implementation and use of atmospheric measurement-based “top-down” and data-driven “bottom-up” GHG emission inventory estimates, and the combination of both approaches, explicit in space and time, to deliver actionable emissions information at scales where human activity occurs and emission reduction is most effective. This session is part of the EGU General Assembly 2019 30th anniversary celebration of the WMO’s Global Atmosphere Watch Program and its commitment to science-based services.

Co-organized as BG1.67/CL3.02/ERE1.6
Convener: Phil DeCola | Co-conveners: Tomohiro Oda, Oksana Tarasova
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room 0.11
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Attendance time: Friday, 12 April 2019, 08:30–10:15 | Hall X5

Chairperson: Phil DeCola
X5.342 |
Kristen Minish, Israel Begashaw, Mark Johnson, Anatoly Komissarov, William Miller, Derek Trutna, Ryan Walbridge, Jon Welles, Liukang Xu, and George Burba
X5.343 |
Lisha Liu, Yanwei Dou, Bo Yao, Lei Wang, Min Peng, Pengju Bie, and Jianxin Hu
X5.345 |
Fluxes of greenhouse gases and short-lived pollutants in Baltimore, New York, and Washington.
Russell Dickerson, Xinrong Ren, Hao He, Ross Salawitch, Doyeon Ahn, Timothy Canty, Israel Lozez-Coto, and James Whetstone
X5.346 |
Margarita Choulga, Greet Janssens-Maenhout, Gianpaolo Balsamo, Joe McNorton, Anna Agusti-Panareda, and Richard Engelen
X5.347 |
Richard Engelen, Gianpaolo Balsamo, Anna Agusti-Panareda, Dominik Brunner, Frédéric Chevallier, Hugo Denier van der Gon, Greet Janssens-Maenhout, Corinne Le Quéré, Julia Marshall, Wouter Peters, Marko Scholze, and Daniel Thiemert
X5.348 |
Nicolas Bousserez, Joe McNorton, Anna Agusti-Panareda, Margarita Choulga, Jerome Barre, Gianpaolo Balsamo, and Richard Engelen
X5.349 |
Frank-Thomas Koch, Christoph Gerbig, Christian Rödenbeck, and Ute Karstens
X5.351 |
| presentation
Benedict Spaan, Sara Mikaloff-Fletcher, Gordon Brailsford, Zoe Buxton, Sylvia Nichol, Colin Nankivell, and Britt Stephens
X5.352 |
Annmarie Eldering, Thomas Kurosu, Ryan Pavlick, Brendan Fisher, and Gregory Osterman
X5.354 |
Philippe Peylin, Philippe ciais, Gregoire Broquet, Frederic Chevallier, lucia Perugini, dirk Guenther, antonio Bombelli, Hugo Denier van der gon, Paul Palmer, pete Smith, Rona Thompson, Philippe Bousquet, glen Peters, han Dolman, Greet Maenhout, Corinne Lequere, Werner Kutsch, and Phil DeCola
X5.356 |
High resolution CO2 and co-emitted species emission data with accompanying uncertainty information to support atmospheric modelling and verification of emissions.
Hugo Denier van der Gon, Jeroen Kuenen, Antoon Visschedijk, Ingrid Super, Stijn Dellaert, Sander Jonkers, Jukka-Pekka Jalkanen, Jean-Matthieu Haussaire, Gerrit Kuhlmann, Dominik Brunner, Gianpaolo Balsamo, and Philippe Peylin