The geological record provides insight into how climate processes may operate and evolve in a high CO2 environment and the nature of the climate system during a turnover from icehouse to greenhouse state — a transition that may potentially occur in the near future. In recent years we have seen major advances in many geochemical techniques and an increase in the complexity of Earth System Models. The aim of this session is to share progress in our understanding of global changes occurring during the pre-Quaternary based on the integration of geochemical/paleobotanical/sedimentological techniques and numerical models. Specifically, we encourage submissions describing research in which both model and data approaches are embedded. We invite abstracts that reconstruct Earth’s climate from the Cambrian to the Pliocene, investigate how the interconnections of the key surface reservoirs (vegetation-ocean-atmosphere-cryosphere-biogeochemistry) impact climate, and identify tipping points and thresholds. Pertinent themes may include greenhouse-icehouse transitions and intervals testifying for extreme changes.

Co-organized as SSP2.12.2
Convener: Yannick Donnadieu | Co-conveners: Caroline H. Lear, Gregor Knorr, Emmanuelle Puceat, Bas van de Schootbrugge, Jeremy Caves Rugenstein, Margret Steinthorsdottir
| Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room L2
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room L2

14:00–14:15 |
Martin Schobben and Bas van de Schootbrugge
14:15–14:30 |
Dennis Kent and Giovanni Muttoni
14:30–14:45 |
| Highlight
Marie Laugié, Alexandre Pohl, Jean Borgomano, Julien Michel, Cyprien Lanteaume, Christopher R. Scotese, Camille Frau, Emmanuelle Poli, and Yannick Donnadieu
14:45–15:00 |
Despina Zoura, Daniel Hill, Aisling Dolan, Zihua Tang, and Alan Haywood
15:00–15:15 |
Inigo Andreas Müller, Irene Waajen, David Wallis, Rein Nijhof, Joost Frieling, Peter K. Bijl, and Martin Ziegler
15:15–15:30 |
Michiel Baatsen, Anna Von der Heydt, Peter Bijl, Michael Kliphuis, Appy Sluijs, and Henk Dijkstra
15:30–15:45 |
Vittoria Lauretano, David Naafs, Vera A. Korasidis, Malcolm W. Wallace, and Richard D. Pancost
Coffee break
16:15–16:30 |
Guillaume Dupont-Nivet, Mara Page, Alexis Licht, Niels Meijer, Natasha Barbolini, Amber Woutersen, Carina Hoorn, Delphine Tardif, Guillaume LeHir, Frederic Fluteau, Agathe Toumoulin, Yannick Donnadieu, Andrew Schauer, Katharine Huntington, Jens Fiebig, Andreas Mulch, and Zhaojie Guo
16:30–16:45 |
Anna Joy Drury, Diederik Liebrand, Thomas Westerhold, Helen M. Beddow, David A. Hodell, and Lucas L. Lourens
17:15–17:30 |
Edward Gasson, Guy Paxman, Rob DeConto, Yige Zhang, Stewart Jamieson, and David Pollard
17:30–17:45 |
Svetlana Botsyun, Todd A. Ehlers, Sebastian G. Mutz, Emilija Krsnik, Andreas Mulch, and Katharina Methner
17:45–18:00 |
Christian Turney and Alan Cooper