AS5.1 | PICO

The International Monitoring System (IMS) of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) senses the solid Earth, the oceans and the atmosphere with a global network of seismic, infrasound, and hydroacoustic sensors as well as detectors for atmospheric radioactivity. The primary purpose of the IMS data is for nuclear explosion monitoring regarding all aspects of detecting, locating and characterizing nuclear explosions and their radioactivity releases. On-site verification technologies apply similar methods on smaller scales as well as geophysical methods such as ground penetrating radar and geomagnetic surveying with the goal of identifying evidence for a nuclear explosion close to ground zero. Papers in this session address advances in the sensor technologies, new and historic data, data collection, data processing and analysis methods and algorithms, uncertainty analysis, machine learning and data mining, experiments and simulations including atmospheric transport modelling. This session also welcomes papers on applications of the IMS and OSI instrumentation data. This covers the use of IMS data for disaster risk reduction such as tsunami early warning, earthquake hazard assessment, volcano ash plume warning, radiological emergencies and climate change related monitoring. The scientific applications of IMS data establish another large range of topics, including acoustic wave propagation in the Earth crust, stratospheric wind fields and gravity waves, global atmospheric circulation patterns, deep ocean temperature profiles and whale migration. The use of IMS data for such purposes returns a benefit with regard to calibration, data analysis methods and performance of the primary mission of monitoring for nuclear explosions.

Co-organized as NH1.18/SM5.3
Convener: Martin Kalinowski | Co-conveners: Lars Ceranna, Yan Jia, Peter Nielsen, Ole Ross
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
PICO spot 5a

Friday, 12 April 2019

PICO spot 5a
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
10:45–10:55 |
PICO5a.1 |
Martin Kalinowski, Pierre Bourgouin, Abdelhakim Gheddou, Jolanta Kusmierczyk-Michulec, and Boxue Liu
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
10:55–10:57 |
PICO5a.2 |
J. Ole Ross, Andreas Bollhöfer, Clemens Schlosser, and Lars Ceranna
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
10:57–10:59 |
PICO5a.3 |
Sheila Peacock, Neil Selby, and David Bowers
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
10:59–11:01 |
PICO5a.4 |
Ivan Kitov, Ronan Le Bras, and Mikhail Rozhkov
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:01–11:03 |
PICO5a.5 |
Steven J. Gibbons, Tormod Kværna, and S. Peter Näsholm
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:03–11:05 |
PICO5a.6 |
Discrimination of earthquakes and nuclear and industrial explosions
(withdrawn after no-show)
Svetlana Blinova, Anna Dobrynina, and Victor German
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:05–11:07 |
PICO5a.7 |
Murray McGowan and Elizabeth Passey
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:07–11:09 |
PICO5a.8 |
Miriam Kristekova, Jozef Kristek, Peter Moczo, Peter Labak, and Martin Galis
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:09–11:11 |
PICO5a.9 |
Jolanta Kusmierczyk-Michulec, Paulina Bittner, Pierrick Mialle, and Martin Kalinowski
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:11–11:13 |
PICO5a.10 |
Hiroyuki Matsumoto, Mario Zampolli, Georgios Haralabus, Jerry Stanley, James Mattila, and Nurcan Meral Özel
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:13–11:15 |
PICO5a.11 |
Ronan Le Bras, Peter Nielsen, and Albert Brouwer
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:15–11:17 |
PICO5a.12 |
| presentation
Peter Nielsen, Mario Zampolli, Ronan Le Bras, and Georgios Haralabus
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:17–11:19 |
PICO5a.13 |
| presentation
Albert Brouwer, Ronan Le Bras, and Peter Nielsen
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:19–11:21 |
PICO5a.14 |
Pieter Smets, Karlien Sambell, Dick Simons, Mirjam Snellen, and Läslo Evers
Chairperson: Peter Nielsen
11:21–11:23 |
PICO5a.15 |
Peter Harris, Stephen Stephen Robinson, Lian Wang, Kostas Sotirakopoulos, Sei-Him Cheong, and Valerie Livina