SSS10.4 | PICO

Viticulture is one of the most important agricultural sectors of Europe with an average annual production of 168 million hectoliters (54% of global consumption). The concept of “Terroir” links the quality and typicity of wine to the territory, and, in particular, to specific environmental characteristics that affect the plant response (e.g. climate, geology, pedology). The environmental factors that drive the terroir effect vary in space and time, as well as soil and crop management.
Understanding the spatial variability of some environmental factors (e.g. soil) is very important to manage and preserve terroirs and face the current and future issue of climate change. In this sense, it is important to stress that in the last decade, the study of terroir has shifted from a largely descriptive regional science to a more applied, technical research field, including: sensors for mapping and monitoring environmental variables, remote sensing and drones for crop monitoring, forecast models, use of microelements and isotopes for wine traceability, metagenome approach to study the biogeochemical cycles of nutrients.
Moreover, public awareness for ecosystem functioning has led to more quantitative approaches in evidencing the relations between management and the ecosystem services of vineyard agroecosystems. Agroecology approaches in vineyard, like the use of cover crops, straw mulching, and organic amendments, are developing to improve biodiversity, organic matter, soil water and nutrient retention, preservation from soil erosion.
On those bases, the session will address the several aspects of viticultural terroirs:
1) quantifying and spatial modelling of terroir components that influence plant growth, fruit composition and quality, mostly examining climate-soil-water relationships; 2) terroir concept resilience to climate change; 3) wine traceability and zoning based on microelements and isotopes; 4) interaction between vineyard management practices and effects on soil and water quality as well as biodiversity and related ecosystem services.

Convener: Simone Priori | Co-conveners: Antonello Bonfante, Sandro Conticelli, Emmanuelle Vaudour, Silvia Winter
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
PICO spot 3

Friday, 12 April 2019

PICO spot 3
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:45–10:47 |
PICO3.1 |
Luca Brillante, Antonello Bonfante, and Simone Priori
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:47–10:49 |
PICO3.2 |
| presentation
Manuel Oliveira, Pedro Barbosa, and Andre Guedes
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:49–10:51 |
PICO3.3 |
Filippo Benedetti, Peter Finke, Simone Priori, and Edoardo Costantini
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:51–10:53 |
PICO3.4 |
Valentina Andreoli, Claudio Cassardo, Silvia Cavalletto, Silvia Ferrarese, Silvia Guidoni, and Elena Mania
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:53–10:55 |
PICO3.5 |
Simone Priori, Daniele Sarri, Lorenzo D'Avino, Giovanni L'Abate, Linda Salvi, Marco Vieri, Giovan Battista Mattii, and Marco Antoni
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:55–10:57 |
PICO3.6 |
Dario Autovino, Rossella Albrizio, Angelo Basile, Antonello Bonfante, Roberta Buonomo, Roberto De Mascellis, Pasquale Giorio, Gianpiero Guida, Piero Manna, and Marco Oliva
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:57–10:59 |
PICO3.7 |
Veronica De Micco, Giovanna Battipaglia, Arturo Erbaggio, Roberto De Mascellis, and Antonello Bonfante
Chairperson: Simone Priori
10:59–11:01 |
PICO3.8 |
Veronica De Micco, Chiara Cirillo, Carmen Arena, Giovanna Battipaglia, Arturo Erbaggio, Rosanna Caputo, Youssef Rouphael, Chiara Amitrano, Ermenegilda Vitale, Francesco Niccoli, Anna Brook, and Antonello Bonfante
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:01–11:03 |
PICO3.9 |
Arturo Fabiani, Simone Priori, Stefano Mocali, Sergio Pellegrini, Giuseppe Valboa, Paolo Storchi, and Edoardo A.C. Costantini
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:03–11:05 |
PICO3.10 |
Silvia Winter, Markus Redl, Andreas Walzer, Karin Hage-Ahmed, Emilio Benítez, Adrien Rusch, Christoph Hoffmann, Martin Entling, Mignon Sandor, Daniela Popescu, Daniel Karp, Holger Bergmann, Elke Plaas, Nina Schwarz, Johann Zaller, and Daniel Paredes
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:05–11:07 |
PICO3.11 |
Sophie Kratschmer, Bärbel Pachinger, Martina Schwantzer, Daniel Paredes, Gema Guzmán, José A. Goméz, José A. Entrenas, Muriel Guernion, Françoise Burel, Annegret Nicolai, Albin Fertil, Daniela Popescu, Laura Macavei, Adela Hoble, Claudiu Bunea, Monika Kriechbaum, Johann G. Zaller, and Silvia Winter
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:07–11:09 |
PICO3.12 |
Dylan Warren Raffa, Daniele Antichi, Stefano Carlesi, Massimo Sbrana, Alessandra Virili, Angela Puig Sirera, Giovanni Rallo, and Paolo Bàrberi
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:09–11:11 |
PICO3.13 |
| Highlight
Ines Tescione, Martina Casalini, Sara Marchionne, Massimo Mattei, and Sandro Conticelli
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:11–11:13 |
PICO3.14 |
Bev Coldwell, Matthew Pankhurst, Sara Ribeiro, José Francisco Santos, Eleazar Padrón, María Asensio, and Nemesio Peréz
Chairperson: Simone Priori
11:13–11:15 |
PICO3.15 |
Eleonora Braschi, Sara Marchionni, Simone Priori, Martina Casalini, Simone Tommasini, Antonella Buccianti, Edoardo A.C. Costantini, and Sandro Conticelli