HS1.1.3 ECS

The advancement of hydrological research relies on innovative methods to determine states and fluxes at high a spatiotemporal resolution. The emergence of novel measurement techniques has been and will continue to be an important driver for the ability to analyze hydrological processes and to evaluate process based models. Recent advances in noninvasive techniques allow continuous contactless and integrative measurements of hydrological state variables and fluxes from the field to basin scale (e.g. cosmic-ray neutron probes, GNSS reflectometry, ground-based microwave radiometry, gamma-ray monitoring, terrestrial gravimetry, “MacGyver” field solutions).
In this session, we encourage submissions dealing with such new types of sensing methods, ranging from instrumental aspects, improved algorithms of signal conversion, data analysis to applications of the new methods for investigating hydrological processes, and the integration of noninvasive monitored data into models from the field to the catchment scale.
In addition, we invite presentation on new data storage or transmission solutions sending data from the field (e.g. LoRa, WIFI, GSM) or started initiatives (e.g., that facilitate the creation and sharing of novel sensors, data acquisition and transmission systems.

This session is co-organized by the MOXXI: Observations in the 21st century working group of the IAHS.

Co-organized as SSS12.9
Convener: Heye Bogena | Co-conveners: Rolf Hut, Andreas Güntner, Martin Schrön, Theresa Blume, John Selker, Flavia Tauro, Andrew Wickert
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room 2.44
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall A

Attendance time: Monday, 8 April 2019, 16:15–18:00 | Hall A

Chairperson: Rolf Hut
A.15 |
Tong Li, Bei Wang, Chunhua Yan, and Guo Yu Qiu
A.16 |
| presentation
Nick van de Giesen and Steven Weijs
A.18 |
Anna Carozzani and Nicola Durighetto
A.19 |
Stefano Romanelli, Riccardo Giusti, Yamuna Giambastiani, Stefano Cecchi, Francesca Palomba, Francesco Manetti, and Lorenzo Bottai
A.20 |
Rolf Hut, Victor Stoeten, and Marie-Claire ten Veldhuis
A.21 |
Daniel Rasche, Andreas Güntner, and Theresa Blume
A.22 |
Anne-Karin Cooke, Cédric Champollion, Pierre Vermeulen, Camille Janvier, Bruno Desruelle, Nicolas Le Moigne, and Sébastien Merlet
A.23 |
Simon Filhol, Norbert Pirk, John Burkhart, Thomas Schuler, David Ibanez, and John Hulth
A.24 |
Tim van Emmerik, Kees van Oeveren, Michelle Loozen, and Lourens Meijer
A.25 |
Dazhi Li, Harrie-Jan Hendricks Franssen, Martin Schrön, Markus Köhli, Heye Bogena, Jannis Weimar, Miguel Angel Jiménez Bello, Xujun Han, Fernando Martínez Alzamora, Steffen Zacharias, and Harry Vereecken
A.26 |
Jan Devátý and Hana Beitlerová
A.27 |
Mandy Kasner, Martin Schrön, Jannis Weimar, Markus Köhli, Sofia Samaniego, Ulrich Schmidt, and Steffen Zacharias