Despite more than 100 years of research into the biochemistry and ecology of microbial N transformations, our understanding of how plants, microbiota and their physical environment shape the N cycle remains fragmentary. At the same time, we are in the midst of a global experiment, augmenting the N cycle to unprecedented levels. Relevant current research addresses, but is not limited to, N transformation processes connecting stable and reactive pools in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, the balance between N retaining and dissipating processes, transport and fate of reactive N in the environment and emission and uptake of gaseous N.
This session is open for contributions advancing our understanding of N-transformation processes on all scales, ranging from the micro-site to the watershed. Both field and laboratory studies are welcome. We are particularly interested in contributions reflecting recent methodological advancements in measuring (or inferring) N-transformation rates and their underlying biotic and abiotic components. Studies addressing spatiotemporal variabilities (“hot spots” and “hot moments”) and modeling approaches aiming to overcome variability and scale boarders are highly welcome.

Convener: Peter Dörsch | Co-conveners: Linda Hink, Christoph Müller, Reinhard Well
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room 2.25
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall A

Attendance time: Monday, 8 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall A

Chairperson: Linda Hink
A.337 |
Isabella Hinger, Claus Pelikan, and Marc Mußmann
A.338 |
Jan Zawallich, Steffen Schlüter, Sina Henjes, Peter Dörsch, Hans-Jörg Vogel, Marcus A. Horn, and Olaf Ippisch
A.341 |
Tim Clough, Martin Chantigny, Elena Moltchanova, and Leo Condron
A.342 |
Szandra Baklanov, Ágota Horel, Zsófia Bakacsi, Eszter Tóth, Györgyi Gelybó, Márton Dencső, and Imre Potyó
A.343 |
Reinhard Well, Caroline Buchen, Roland Fuß, Dominika Lewicka-Szczebak, and Mehmet Senbayram
A.344 |
Jürgen Augustin, Matthias Lueck, and Mathias Hoffmann
A.345 |
Plant allelochemcal compounds might limit N cycle losses from ecosystems: how extended might be the phenomenon?
Simona Castaldi
A.347 |
Niharika Sharma and Sanjeev Kumar
A.348 |
Chunsheng Hu, Yuying Wang Wang, Shuping Qin, and Dianming Wu
A.349 |
Johannes Friedl, Daniele De Rosa, David W. Rowlings, Peter R. Grace, Christoph Müller, and Clemens Scheer