AS1.18 Media

This session invites contributions on all aspects of dynamical meteorology, especially into the investigation of mid-latitude cyclone and storms on both hemispheres. The session focuses on predictability of mid-latitude, tropical and polar weather systems, including cyclones at different stages of their life cycles from the initial development, to the large-scale and synoptic-scale conditions. Factors influencing cyclone growth to a severe storm, up to their dissipation are investigated from dynamical as well as climatological perspectives. This session will focus on all aspects of cyclone activity (including their impacts) and mid-latitude dynamical meteorology, particularly inviting results from recent field campaigns.
One goal of the session is to bring researchers together from different areas of expertise and backgrounds: researchers from dynamic-climatological perspectives and end-users and practitioners from impact based research and applications (e.g. financial sector, insurance industry).

Convener: Gregor C. Leckebusch | Co-conveners: Joaquim G. Pinto, Uwe Ulbrich, Helen Dacre, Julian Quinting, Victoria Sinclair
| Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room L3
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Attendance time: Tuesday, 9 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall X5

Chairperson: JG Pinto
X5.187 |
Zhou Kun, Tao Wei, and Wu Ruijiao
X5.188 |
Nico Becker, Robin Noyelle, Uwe Ulbrich, and Edmund P. Meredith
X5.189 |
Jesús Gutierrez-Fernandez, Juan Jesús Gonzalez-Aleman, Miguel Angel Gaernet, and Alba De la Vara
X5.191 |
Christian Passow and Uwe Ulbrich
X5.192 |
| Highlight
Michael Walz, Michael Gloor, and Dominik Renggli
X5.195 |
On the Dynamics of the Mesoscale Energy Spectra in the Moist Non-hydrostatic Atmosphere
Jun Peng and Jun Zhao
X5.196 |
Lisa-Ann Kautz, Julia H. Keller, Olivia Martius, Joaquim G. Pinto, and Sarah C. Jones
X5.197 |
Matthew Priestley, Helen Dacre, Len Shaffrey, Joaquim Pinto, Alexandros Georgiadis, and Aidan Brocklehurst
X5.198 |
Evangelia Bitsa, Helena A. Flocas, John Kouroutzoglou, Maria Hatzaki, Irina Rudeva, Ian Simmonds, and Panagiotis T. Nastos
X5.201 |
Hu Yang, Gerrit Lohmann, Xiaoxu Shi, and Chao Li
X5.202 |
| presentation
Joonsuk Kang, Jaeyeon Lee, Seok-Woo Son, Joowan Kim, and Deliang Chen
X5.203 |
Thomas Moran, Uwe Ulbrich, and Henning Rust
X5.204 |
Federico Grazzini, Georgios Fragkoulidis, Volkmar Wirth, and George C. Craig