Dear colleague, our website uses Bootstrap, which is supported by any browser except for Internet Explorer. Please install any other web browser to make use of all of our features. Thank you very much for your understanding.



This session provides a platform for contributions on high-resolution precipitation measurements, analyses, and applications in real-time as well as climate studies. Monitoring and statistical analyses of precipitation at small spatial and temporal scales are challenging. Therefore, special focus is placed on documenting the benefit of highly spatially and temporally resolved observations of different measurement platforms, e.g. satellites, radar networks, or opportunistic sensing, e.g. retrieving rainfall from microwave links. Papers on monitoring and analyzing extreme precipitation events including extreme value statistics, multi-scale analysis, and event-based data analyses are especially welcome, comprising definitions and applications of indices to characterize extreme precipitation events, e.g. in public communication. Contributions on long-term observations of precipitation and correlations to meteorological and non-meteorological data with respect to climate change studies are cordially invited. In addition, contributions on the development and improvement of gridded reference data sets based on in-situ and remote sensing precipitation measurements (e.g., GPCC, OPERA) are welcome.
High-resolution measurements and analyses of precipitation are crucial, especially in urban areas with high vulnerabilities, in order to describe the hydrological response and improve water risk management. Thus, this session also addresses contributions on the application of high-resolution precipitation data in hydrological impact and design studies.
Summarizing, one or more of the following topics shall be addressed:
• Precipitation measurement techniques
• High-resolution precipitation observations from different platforms (e.g., gauges, disdrometers, radars, satellites, microwave links) and their combination
• Precipitation reference data sets (e.g., GPCC, OPERA)
• Statistical analysis of extreme precipitation (events)
• Multi-scale analysis, including sub-kilometer scale statistical precipitation description and downscaling methods
• Definition and application of indices to characterize extreme precipitation events
• Climate change studies on extreme precipitation (events)
• Urban hydrology and hydrological impact as well as design studies
• New concepts of adaptation to climate change with respect to extreme precipitation in urban areas

Conveners: Miloslav Müller, Tanja Winterrath | Co-Conveners: Dr. Andreas Becker, Elsa Cattani, Auguste Gires, Katharina Lengfeld, Aart Overeem, Marie-Claire ten Veldhuis, Massimiliano Zappa, Markus Ziese
| Wed, 11 Sep, 16:00–18:00|Oticon Hall, Thu, 12 Sep, 10:30–12:30|Room S1
| Attendance Thu, 12 Sep, 09:30–10:30 | Display Wed, 11 Sep, 13:30–Fri, 13 Sep, 13:30|Sports Hall

Wednesday, 11 September 2019 | Oticon Hall

Chairperson: 16935
Satellite Data
Chairperson: 16935
16:00–16:15 |
Chris Kidd, Nai-Yu Wang, Sarah Ringerud, Toshi Matsui, and James Beauchamp
Chairperson: 16935
16:15–16:30 |
Camille Le Coz, Arnold Heemink, Martin Verlaan, Marie-claire ten Veldhuis, and Nick van de Giesen
Chairperson: 16935
16:30–16:45 |
Julia Kukulies, Deliang Chen, and Jianping Tang
Chairperson: 16935
16:45–17:00 |
Janice Bytheway, Mimi Hughes, Kelly Mahoney, and Rob Cifelli
Chairperson: 16935
Chairperson: 16935
17:00–17:15 |
Tanja Winterrath, Ewelina Walawender, Katharina Lengfeld, Thomas Junghänel, Christoph Brendel, Elmar Weigl, Mario Hafer, Franziska Fischer, Karl Auerswald, and Andreas Becker
Chairperson: 16935
17:15–17:30 |
Phoebe Hänsel, Stefan Langel, Marcus Schindewolf, Andreas Kaiser, Arno Buchholz, Falk Böttcher, and Jürgen Schmidt
Chairperson: 16935
Chairperson: 16935

Thursday, 12 September 2019 | Room S1

Chairperson: 16936
Extreme Precipitation
Chairperson: 16936
10:30–10:45 |
Insa Otte, Thomas Junghänel, Thomas Deutschländer, Winfried Willems, and Uwe Haberlandt
Chairperson: 16936
10:45–11:00 |
Miloslav Müller, Vojtěch Bližňák, Marek Kašpar, Petr Zacharov, and Róbert Kvak
Chairperson: 16936
11:00–11:15 |
Martin Drews, Kai Schröter, Michel Wortmann, and Fred Hattermann
Chairperson: 16936
Commercial Microwave Links
Chairperson: 16936
11:15–11:30 |
Adam Eshel, Jonatan Ostrometzky, Shani Gat, Pinhas Alpert, and Hagit Messer
Chairperson: 16936
11:30–11:45 |
Remco van de Beek, Jafet Andersson, Peter Berg, Jonas Hansryd, Jonas Olsson, and Berit Arheimer
Chairperson: 16936
Chairperson: 16936
Measuring and Monitoring
Chairperson: 16936
12:00–12:15 |
Laurent Delobbe, Olivier Francis, Arnaud Watlet, and Michel Van Camp
Chairperson: 16936
12:15–12:30 |
Anna-Maria Tilg, Flemming Vejen, and Charlotte Bay Hasager

Supporters & sponsors