EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



Space missions have provided a wealth of data on the atmospheres and aeronomy of rocky planets and moons, from the lower layers up to the external envelopes in direct contact with the solar wind. A recent emerging finding is evidence that the atmosphere behaves as a single coherent system with complex coupling between layers.

This session solicits contributions that investigate processes at work (chemistry, energetics, dynamics, electricity, escape etc...) on Venus, Mars, and Titan and includes studies of the coupling between the lower/middle and upper atmospheres. Contributions based on analysis of recent spacecraft and ground-based observations, comparative planetology studies, numerical modelling and relevant laboratory investigations are particularly welcome. The session will consist of invited and contributed oral talks as well as posters.

Co-organized as OPS8
Convener: Anni Määttänen | Co-conveners: Michael Chaffin, Francisco González-Galindo, Majd Mayyasi, Claire Newman, Takehiko Satoh, Dmitrij Titov
| Wed, 18 Sep, 13:30–18:30
Uranus (Room 4)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Basement

Wednesday, 18 September 2019 | Uranus (Room 4)

Chairperson: Claire Newman and Francisco Gonzalez-Galindo
13:30–13:45 |
François Forget, Don Banfield, Ehouarn Millour, Aymeric Spiga, Claire Newman, Daniel Viúdez-Moreiras, Jorge Pla-Garcia, Sarah Navarro, Luis Mora-Sotomayor, Josefina Torres-Redondo, Jose Antonio Rodriguez-Manfredi, Stephen Lewis, Ralph Lorenz, Philippe Lognonne, and Bruce Banerdt
13:45–14:00 |
Searching for the most probable source locations of the methane detected by Curiosity and PFS in mid-June 2013
Sébastien Viscardy, Frank Daerden, Lori Neary, Marco Giuranna, Giuseppe Etiope, and Dorothy Oehler
14:00–14:15 |
Alexandra Warren, Edwin Kite, Jean-Pierre Williams, and Briony Horgan
14:15–14:30 |
Alexandre Kling, Melinda Kahre, John Wilson, Amanda Brecht, and James Murphy
14:30–14:45 |
Dmitry Shaposhnikov, Alexander Medvedev, Alexander Rodin, and Paul Hartogh
14:45–15:00 |
Mike Chaffin, David Kass, Shohei Aoki, and Anna Fedorova and the MAVEN/IUVS, TGO/NOMAD, TGO/ACS, and MRO/MCS teams
Coffee break
Chairperson: Mike Chaffin and Majd Mayyasi
15:30–15:45 |
Jean-Yves Chaufray, Francisco Gonzalez-Galindo, Miguel Lopez-Valverde, François Forget, Eric Quémerais, Jean-Loup Bertaux, Franck Montmessin, Michael Chaffin, Nick Schneider, John Clarke, François Leblanc, Ronan Modolo, and Roger Yelle
15:45–16:00 |
Majd Mayyasi, John Clarke, Dolon Bhattacharyya, Jean-Yves Chaufray, Jean-Loup Bertaux, and Nicholas Schneider
16:00–16:15 |
John Clarke, Majd Mayyasi, Dolon Bhattacharyya, Nick Schneider, Jean-Yves Chaufray, Jean-Loup Bertaux, Michael Chaffin, Bruce Jakosky, Justin Deighan, Sonal Jain, Bill McClintock, and Roger Yelle
16:15–16:30 |
Dolon Bhattacharyya, John Clarke, Majd Mayyasi, Jean-Yves Chaufray, Carl Schmidt, Robert Johnson, Jean-Loup Bertaux, Luke Moore, Michael Chaffin, Hannes Groeller, and Nicholas Schneider
16:30–16:45 |
Jean-Claude Gérard, Leonardos Gkouvelis, Birgit Ritter, Benoît Hubert, Sonal Jain, and Nicholas Schneider
16:45–17:00 |
Nicholas Schneider, Sonal Jain, Justin Deighan, Shaosui Xu, David Brain, David Mitchell, and Robert Lillis
Chairperson: Takehiko Satoh and Dima Titov
17:15–17:30 |
Nicholas Lombardo, Conor Nixon, Bruno Bezard, Sandrine Vinatier, Thomas Greathouse, Antoine Jolly, and Patrick Irwin
17:30–17:45 |
David Dubois, Ella Sciamma-O'Brien, Laura Iraci, Erika Barth, Farid Salama, and Sandrine Vinatier
18:00–18:15 |
Takehiko Satoh, Choon Wei Vun, Takao M. Sato, Takeshi Horinouchi, George L. Hashimoto, and Kevin McGouldrick