EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



This session will welcome abstracts on studies of comets that are among the primitive building blocks of the solar system and their investigation both from remote sensing and in-situ, providing insight into how the solar system formed and its subsequent evolution. We will consider contributions on the recent and up-close study of 67/P Churyumov–Gerasimenko by the Rosetta mission, which provided observations allowing relationships to be established between the origin, structure, evolution and activity of such bodies. Papers covering a broad range of cometary science are also welcome.
This session will further explore the overlap between the comet and asteroid populations. In particular, it will cover the Main Belt Comets and other "active" asteroids, searches for ices in or on asteroids, and dynamical or physical models exploring the formation and evolution of volatile rich asteroids. It will also cover apparently asteroidal bodies in comet-like orbits (dormant or extinct comets, the "Damocloids" or "Manx" comets), active Centaurs, and asteroid activity due to recent collisions or rotational break-up, etc. Studies involving space and ground based observations, along with simulation and laboratory experiments are welcome.

Public information:
Comets are among the primitive building blocks of the Solar System and their investigation from both remote sensing and in-situ, provides insight into how the Solar System formed and its subsequent evolution. The latest results from Rosetta's investigation of 67/P Churyumov–Gerasimenko, the recent perihelion passage of 46/P Wirtanen, and intriguing activity on asteroids and extinct comets are among the subjects of this session's talks.

Convener: Matthew Taylor | Co-conveners: Bonnie Buratti, Aurelie Guilbert-Lepoutre, Henry Hsieh, Gal Sarid, Colin Snodgrass
| Wed, 18 Sep, 08:30–12:00, 13:30–18:30
Saturn (Room 2), Thu, 19 Sep, 08:30–12:00
Uranus (Room 4)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Basement
Display time: Wednesday, 18 September 2019 14:00–Friday, 20 September 17:30

Attendance time: Thursday, 19 September 2019, 17:15–18:45 | Basement

Chairperson: Bonnie Buratti
B204 |
David Heather, Diego Fraga, Patrick Martin, Laurence O'Rourke, and Matthew Taylor
B205 |
Zhong-Yi Lin
B206 |
Philippe Lamy, Guillaume Faury, David Romeuf, Olivier Groussin, and Joelle Durand
B207 |
Samuel Birch, Jean-Baptiste Vincent, Abhinav Jindal, Jason Soderblom, Orkan Umurhan, and Alexander Hayes
B208 |
Olivier Groussin, Laurent Jorda, Jessica Sunshine, Lori Feaga, Jean-Baptiste Vincent, and Ekkehard Kuehrt
B209 |
Thurid Mannel, Mark Bentley, Peter Boakes, Harald Jeszenszky, Pascale Ehrenfreund, Cecile Engrand, Christian Koeberl, Anny-Chantal Levasseur-Regourd, Jens Romstedt, Roland Schmied, Klaus Torkar, and Iris Weber
B211 |
Bastian Gundlach, Lea Klaiber, Thurid Mannel, Jürgen Blum, Hans-Jürgen Butt, and Michael Kappl
B212 |
Bastian Gundlach and the CoPhyLab Team
B213 |
David Kappel, Gabriele Arnold, Lyubov Moroz, Andrea Raponi, Mauro Ciarniello, Federico Tosi, Stephane Erard, Cedric Leyrat, Maria I. Błęcka, Gianrico Filacchione, and Fabrizio Capaccioni
B214 |
Matthias Hahn, Martin Pätzold, Silvia Tellmann, Bernd Häusler, Tom Andert, and Jean-Pierre Barriot
B215 |
Erik Vigren, Niklas Edberg, Anders Eriksson, Marina Galand, Pierre Henri, Fredrik Johansson, Elias Odelstad, Martin Rubin, and Xavier Vallieres
B216 |
Raphael Marschall, David Nesvorný, Joel Parker, and Derek C. Richardson
B217 |
Nalin Samarasinha, Bjorn Davidsson, and Davide Farnocchia
B218 |
Neil Dello Russo, Adam McKay, Mohammad Saki, DiSanti Michael, Bonev Boncho, Gibb Erika, Vervack Ronald, Roth Nathan, Kawakita Hideyo, Cochran Anita, Cordiner Martin, Biver Nicolas, Crovisier Jacques, Bockelée-Morvan Dominique, Jehin Emmanuel, Feaga Lori, and Weaver Harold
B219 |
Nathan Roth, Erika Gibb, Neil Dello Russo, Boncho Bonev, Michael DiSanti, Ronald Vervack, Hideyo Kawakita, Mohammad Saki, Adam McKay, Anita Cochran, Emmanuel Jehin, Martin Cordiner, Harold Weaver, Nicolas Biver, and Jacques Crovisier
B221 |
Dennis Bodewits, Damian Christian, Michael Kelley, Jian Yang Li, Silvia Protopapa, Tony Farnham, Kip Kuntz, Dimitra Koutroumpa, Jennifer Carter, Davide Farnocchia, Tim Lister, Matthew Knight, John Noonan, Walt Harris, Joel Parker, Kathleen Mandt, and Charles Bell
B222 |
Tim Lister, Dennis Bodewits, Tony Farnham, Edward Gomez, Matthew Knight, and Colin Snodgrass
B223 |
Boncho Bonev, Neil Dello Russo, Michael DiSanti, Emily Martin, Gregory Doppmann, Ronald Vervack Jr., Geronimo Villanueva, Hideyo Kawakita, Erika Gibb, Nathan Roth, Mohammad Saki, Dennis Bodewits, Michael Combi, Adam McKay, Jacques Crovisier, Nicolas Biver, Martin Cordiner, and Anita Cochran
B224 |
John Noonan, Dennis Bodewits, Walter Harris, Joel Parker, Kathleen Mandt, Jian Yang Li, and Davide Farnocchia
B225 |
James Bauer, Amy Mainzer, Emily Kramer, Tommy Grav, Joseph Masiero, Yan Fernandez, Justin Van Winkle, Michael S. P. Kelley, Silvia Protopapa, Tim Spahr, Karen Meech, Casey Lisse, Roc Cutri, Dave Milewski, and Ned Wright
B226 |
On the shapes of cometary silicate features
Michael Kelley, David Harker, Charles Woodward, and Diane Wooden
B227 |
Youssef Moulane, Emmanuel Jehin, Francisco José Pozuelos, Cyrielle Opitom, Jean Manfroid, Bin Yang, and Zouhair Benkhaldoun
B228 |
Yuhui Zhao, Ladislav Rezac, and Yuri Skorov
B231 |
How heat of solution powers jets and outbursts in short-period comets, e.g. in 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko
Richard Miles
B232 |
Investigation of Coma Morphology of Long and Short Period Comets
Maria Vincent and Ariel Graykowski
B233 |
Could some near-Earth Jupiter Family Comets come from the Main Asteroid Belt?
Francisco J. Pozuelos Romero, Emmanuel Jehin, Youssef Moulane, and Yang Bin
B234 |
Thermal evolution of comets: from storage reservoirs toward the inner solar system
Aurelie Guilbert-Lepoutre
B235 |
Origin and Evolution of Long-Period Comets
Luke Dones, David Vokrouhlický, and David Nesvorný
B236 |
Emmanuel Jehin, Fernando Moreno, Marin Ferrais, Francisco J. Pozuelos, Javier Licandro, Youssef Moulane, Maxime Devogele, Jean Manfroid, Zouhair Benkhaldoun, and Colin Snodgrass
B237 |
Emmanuel Jehin, Cyrielle Opitom, Damien Hutsemekers, Philippe Rousselot, Youssef Moulane, Francisco J. Pozuelos, Jean Manfroid, Alan Fitzimmons, Chris Gibson, and Colin Snodgrass
B238 |
Erika Gibb, Nathan Roth, Boncho Bonev, Michael DiSanti, Neil Dello Russo, Ronald Vervack, Adam McKay, Hideyo Kawakita, Mahammad Saki, Nicholas Biver, Dominique Bockelee-Morvan, Anita Cochran, Michael Combi, Martin Cordiner, Jacques Crovisier, Lori Feaga, Nicolas Fougere, Silva Protopapa, and Yinsi Shou
B239 |
Philippe Rousselot, Emmanuël Jehin, Mathieu Curti, Damien Hutsemékers, Cyrielle Opitom, Jean Manfroid, and Youssef Moulane
B240 |
Michael DiSanti, Mohamed Saki, Erika Gibb, Boncho Bonev, Neil Dello Russo, Adam McKay, Ronald Vervack, Nathan Roth, and Hideyo Kawakita
B241 |
Alberto Q Vodniza