Many situations occur in Geosciences where one wants to obtain an accurate description of the present, past or future state of a particular system. Examples are prediction of weather and climate, assimilation of observations, or inversion of seismic signals for probing the interior of the planet. One important aspect is the identification of the errors affecting the various sources of information used in the estimation process, and the quantification of the ensuing uncertainty on the final estimate.

The session is devoted to the theoretical and numerical aspects of that broad class of problems. A large number of topics are dealt with in the various papers to be presented: algorithms for assimilation of observations, and associated mathematical aspects (particularly, but not only, in the context of the atmosphere and the ocean), predictability of geophysical flows, with stress on the impact of initial and model errors, inverse problems of different kinds, and also new aspects at the crossing between data assimilation and data-driven methods. Applications to specific physical problems are presented.

Solicited Speakers
Olivier Pannekoucke (Météo-France, Toulouse)
Manuel Pulido (University of Reading)

Co-organized as AS5.18/HS3.6/OS4.21
Convener: Olivier Talagrand | Co-conveners: Javier Amezcua, Natale Alberto Carrassi, Amos Lawless, Mu Mu, Wansuo Duan, Stéphane Vannitsem
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room L2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room L2

Chairperson: Olivier Talagrand
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Olivier Pannekoucke, Sophie Ricci, Richard Ménard, Marc Bocquet, and Olivier Thual
09:15–09:30 |
Julien Brajard, Marc Bocquet, Alberto Carrassi, and Laurent Bertino
09:30–09:45 |
Lesley De Cruz, Roman Solé-Pomies, and Stéphane Vannitsem
10:00–10:15 |
Jonathan Brisch and Holger Kantz
Coffee break
Chairperson: Javier Amezcua
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
Manuel Pulido and Peter Jan van Leeuwen
11:00–11:15 |
| presentation
Alexey Penenko, Zhadyra Mukatova, and Akzhan Salimova
11:15–11:30 |
Dimitri Rambourg, Philippe Ackerer, and Olivier Bildstein
11:30–11:45 |
Tuomo Kauranne, Martin Gunia, Kari Kallio, Olli Malve, Juhani Kettunen, Marko Laine, and Heikki Haario
11:45–12:00 |
Tom Kent, Gordon Inverarity, Luca Cantarello, Steven Tobias, and Onno Bokhove
12:00–12:15 |
Hiromichi Nagao, Shin-ichi Ito, Takashi Kurokawa, Tadashi Kasuya, and Junya Inoue
12:15–12:30 |
Anamika Pandey, Juan Pablo Madrigal Cianci, Fabio Nobile, and Raúl F. Tempone