Soil structure, function and ecosystem services are discussed within each soil discipline: biology, chemistry and physics and it is recognised that each one of these soil disciplines have great importance in determining the overall soil health and characteristics. Moreover, there is an interrelationship between soil biota and the chemical and physical properties of the soil. For example, soil chemical composition can influence the survival of organisms in the soil and in return, soil organisms may change soil pH, aggregate stability and rate of organic matter decomposition. Healthy, bio-diverse, fertile soil that is rich in nutrients and elements required for food security and proper human nutrition can lead to personal physical fitness as well as social wellbeing for both the individual and broader society. Despite sessions and discussions within each soil discipline, there is very little talk between disciplines and one of the main reasons is the difficulties of the members of one discipline to understand the jargon used by another.
The aim of this session is to bring experts and ECSs from the different soil disciplines to present on soil structure, function and ecosystem services where the only rule is that jargon is not allowed! Our main objective is to facilitate discussion and feed soil information between the biology, chemistry and physics disciplines.
We have dedicated our session to the work of Professor Lily Pereg who was the initiator of this session and President of Soil System Sciences Division at EGU until she died tragically and unexpectedly earlier this year.

Co-organized as BG2.29/HS8.3.17
Convener: Taru Sandén | Co-conveners: Brigitta Szabó, Karen Vancampenhout, Eric C. Brevik, Bahar S. Razavi, Lily Pereg (deceased)
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room -2.47
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X1

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room -2.47

Chairperson: Taru Sandén, Brigitta Tóth, Karen Vancampenhout, Eric Brevik
08:30–08:45 |
Dani Or and Thomas Keller
08:45–09:00 |
| Highlight
Jean-Philippe Jenny, Christoph Niemann, Alexandre Baud, Irene Gregory-Eaves, Pierre Francus, Anders Noren, and Nuno Carvalhais
09:00–09:15 |
Pascal Benard, Mohsen Zarebandkouki, Mathilde Brax, Robin Kaltenbach, Iwan Jerjen, Federica Marone, Estelle Couradeau, Vincent Felde, Anders Kaestner, and Andrea Carminati
09:15–09:30 |
Katharina M. Keiblinger, Winfried E.H. Blum, and Sophie Zechmeister-Boltenstern
09:30–09:45 |
Antonio Giandonato Caporale and Paola Adamo
09:45–10:00 |
Axel Mentler, Rosana Maria Kral, Franz Ottner, Karin Wriessnig, Sabine Homann-Kee Tui, and Katharina Maria Keiblinger
10:00–10:15 |
Keiko Mori, Hideaki Hirai, Mitsuru Toma, Ikuko Akahane, Maki Asano, and Takashi Kosaki