Numerous cases of induced/triggered seismicity have been reported in the last decades as a result of the increasing interest in fluid injection/extraction projects related to geo-resources exploration. When such seismicity is felt by the population, it can negatively affect public perception of geo-energies and may lead to the cancellation of important projects. Furthermore, large earthquakes may jeopardize wellbore stability and damage surface infrastructure. Thus, a key issue is to better understand how to monitor and model the processes leading to seismicity, in order to facilitate the development of effective and reliable forecasting methodologies during deep underground exploitation.
Given the complexity of induced seismicity processes and their interdisciplinary nature, understanding the triggering mechanisms implies to take into account coupled thermo-hydro-mechanical-chemical processes.
In this session, we invite contributions from research aimed at understanding such processes during exploitation of deep underground resources, including hydrocarbon
extraction, wastewater disposal, geothermal
energy exploitation, hydraulic fracturing, gas storage and production, mining, and reservoir impoundment for hydro-energy.
We particularly encourage novel contributions based on laboratory and underground near-fault experiments, numerical modelling, spatio-temporal variations of physical parameters and seismicity, and fieldwork, covering both theoretical and experimental aspects of induced and triggered seismicity at multiple spatial and temporal scales.

Co-organized as EMRP1.82/SM6.5
Convener: Antonio Pio Rinaldi | Co-conveners: Luisa Valoroso, Victor Vilarrasa, Marie Violay
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room L2
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X1

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room L2

Chairperson: Victor Vilarrasa, Antonio Pio Rinaldi
Dams and mining
08:30–08:45 |
Tony Nemer
08:45–09:00 |
Real time Strata Stability Monitoring of Hydroelectric Powerhouse Cavern using Microseismics
(withdrawn after no-show)
Sivakumar Cherukuri and Vikalp Kumar
09:00–09:15 |
Isabelle Contrucci, Cyrille Balland, Jannes Kinscher, and Emmanuelle Klein
Laboratory experiments
09:15–09:30 |
Jinfeng Liu, Luuk Hunfeld, André Niemeijer, and Christopher Spiers
09:30–09:45 |
Luke Griffiths, Joonsang Park, Guillaume Sauvin, Magnus Soldal, Lars Grande, Nazmul Mondol, Jung Chan Choi, Jérémie Dautriat, David Dewhurst, Joel Sarout, Volker Oye, Ismael Vera Rodriguez, and Kamran Iranpour
09:45–10:00 |
| solicited
Marco Maria Scuderi, Frederic Cappa, Cristiano Collettini, Yves Guglielmi, and Jean-Philippe Avouac
Coffee break
Chairperson: Antonio Pio Rinaldi, Luisa Valoroso
10:45–11:00 |
Vala Hjörleifsdóttir, Sandra Snæbjörnsdóttir, Kristín Vogfjord, Kristján Ágústsson, Gunnar Gunnarsson, and Sigurlaug Hjaltadóttir
11:00–11:15 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Domenico Giardini, William Ellsworth, Shemin Ge, Toshi Shimamoto, and John Townend
11:15–11:30 |
Francesco Grigoli, Claudio Satriano, Andrea Manconi, John Clinton, Domenico Giardini, William Ellsworth, and Stefan Wiemer
11:30–11:45 |
Grzegorz Kwiatek, Tero Saarno, Thomas Ader, Felix Bluemle, Marco Bohnhoff, Michael Chendorain, Georg Dresen, Pekka Heikkinen, Ilmo Kukkonen, Peter Leary, Maria Leonhardt, Peter Malin, Patricia Martinez-Garzon, Paul Passmore, Kevin Passmore, Christopher Wollin, and Sergio Valenzuela
11:45–12:00 |
| presentation
Dominik Zbinden, Antonio Pio Rinaldi, Tobias Diehl, and Stefan Wiemer
12:00–12:15 |
Sepideh Karimi and Dario Baturan