This session aims at bringing together multidisciplinary studies that address the current state of Arctic observing systems, including strategies to improve them in the future. We invite contributions covering atmosphere, ocean, cryosphere and terrestrial spheres, or combinations thereof, by use of remote sensing, in situ observation technologies, and modeling. Particular foci are placed on (i) the analysis of strengths, weaknesses, gaps in spatial/temporal coverage, and missing monitoring parameters in existing observation networks and databases, and (ii) studies describing the development and/or deployment of new sensors or observation platforms that extend the existing observing infrastructure with multidisciplinary measurements. This session will be supported by the EU-H2020 project INTAROS, and welcomes contributions from other pan-Arctic networks (e.g. INTERACT, GTN-P, NEON, ICOS, SIOS, IASOA, AOOS), multi-disciplinary campaigns (e.g. ABoVE, NGEE Arctic, Arctic Ocean 2018, RV Polarstern cruises) or databases.

Co-organized as AS5.15/BG1.65/CL5.20/CR2.14/OS1.17/SSS13.21
Convener: Roberta Pirazzini | Co-conveners: Andreas P. Ahlstrøm, Agnieszka Beszczynska-Möller, Mathias Göckede, Stein Sandven
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room M1
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X1

Attendance time: Thursday, 11 April 2019, 10:45–12:30 | Hall X1

Chairperson: Mathias Goeckede & Stein Sandven
X1.21 |
Roberta Pirazzini, Michael Tjernström, Andreas Ahlstrøm, Ingo Schewe, David Gustafsson, Hanne Sagen, and Stein Sandven
X1.22 |
Agnieszka Beszczynska-Möller, Peter Voss, Stein Sandven, Hanne Sagen, Andreas Ahlstrøm, Truls Johannessen, Thomas Soltwedel, and Mathias Göckede
X1.23 |
Patrick Gorringe and Antonio Novellino
X1.24 |
Alexander Mahura, Hanna K. Lappalainen, Gleb Oblogov, Alexander Vasiliev, Alla Borisova, Iryna Bashmakova, Nuria Altimir, Sergey Chalov, Pavel Konstantinov, Jaana Back, Tuukka Petäjä, Sergej Zilitinkevich, and Markku Kulmala
X1.25 |
Waldemar Walczowski, Malgorzata Merchel, Piotr Wieczorek, Agnieszka Beszczynska-Moeller, and Ilona Goszczko
X1.27 |
Massimo Caccia, Roberta Ferretti, Angelo Odetti, Andrea Ranieri, Giorgio Bruzzone, Edoardo Spirandelli, and Gabriele Bruzzone
X1.28 |
Stine Kildegaard Rose, Ole Baltazar Andersen, Carsten Ankjær Ludvigsen, and Marcello Passaro
X1.29 |
Robert S. Fausto and the PROMICE team
X1.30 |
Shfaqat Abbas Khan, Per Knudsen, Ole Baltazar Andersen, and Carsten Ankjær Ludwigsen
X1.31 |
Marco Doveri, Matteo Lelli, Ilaria Baneschi, Brunella Raco, Sandra Trifirò, Enrico Calvi, and Antonello Provenzale
X1.32 |
Georg Pointner, Annett Bartsch, Barbara Widhalm, Gustaf Hugelius, and Julia Wagner
X1.33 |
| presentation
Zeinab Jeddi, Mathilde Sørensen, and Peter Voss and the Seismological section of INTAROS
X1.34 |
Tine B. Larsen, Trine Dahl-Jensen, and Peter H. Voss