Dear colleague, our website uses Bootstrap, which is supported by any browser except for Internet Explorer. Please install any other web browser to make use of all of our features. Thank you very much for your understanding.



Meteorology and hydrology act in tandem across the interface of the earth's surface, and as our understanding and predictive capabilities grow this interface is becoming increasingly important. For the good of society, the need to meld together the two disciplines is now stronger than ever. Indeed many national meteorological services around the world have been evolving, formally or informally, into national hydro-meteorological services. The aim of this new session is to provide a large and all-embracing hydro-meteorological forum where experts from both disciplines can join forces, to combine and exploit expertise, and to accelerate the integration process. We invite contributions across a wide-range of spatial scales (from 10s of metres up to global), and a wide-range of time scales (from ~1 hour up to seasonal and climate change), including, but not limited to, the following topics:
- land-atmosphere interaction and hydrological processes, including feedback mechanisms;
- understanding the meteorological processes driving hydrological extremes;
- tools, techniques, and expertise in forecasting hydro-meteorological extremes (e.g. river flooding, flash floods, droughts, etc.);
- fully integrated numerical earth system modelling;
- quantification/propagation of uncertainties in hydro-meteorological models;
- quantification of (past/future) hydrological trends in observations and climate models;
- hydro-meteorological prediction that includes the associated impacts;
- related cryospheric processes;
- environmental variable monitoring by remote sensing.

Conveners: Timothy Hewson, Conor Murphy, Fatima Pillosu
| Wed, 11 Sep, 10:30–15:30|Oticon Hall
| Attendance Thu, 12 Sep, 09:30–10:30 | Display Wed, 11 Sep, 13:30–Fri, 13 Sep, 13:30|Sports Hall

Wednesday, 11 September 2019 | Oticon Hall

Chairperson: 16878
Surface interactions
Chairperson: 16878
10:30–10:45 |
Margarita Choulga, Souhail Boussetta, Ekaterina Kourzeneva, and Gianpaolo Balsamo
Chairperson: 16878
10:45–11:00 |
Daria Gladskikh, Victor Stepanenko, Evgeny Mortikov, Irina Soustova, and Yuliya Troitskaya
Chairperson: 16878
11:00–11:15 |
Annu Panwar, Guido Salvucci, Maik Renner, and Axel Kleidon
Chairperson: 16878
11:15–11:30 |
Olga Silantyeva, Lena M. Tallaksen, and John F. Burkhart
Chairperson: 16878
11:30–11:45 |
Pardeep Pall, Jean Iaquinta, Lena Tallaksen, and Frode Stordal
Chairperson: 16878
Flood Forecasting
Chairperson: 16878
11:45–12:00 |
Rasmus Benestad, Abdelkader Mezghani, Kajsa Parding, and Helene Erlandsen
Chairperson: 16878
12:00–12:15 |
Axelle Fleury and François Bouttier
Chairperson: 16878
12:15–12:30 |
Jonas Olsson, Barbara Blumentahl, Yeshewatesfa Hundecha, Teemu Kokkonen, Rasmus Nielsen, Tero Niemi, Marc Schleiss, and Søren L. Thorndahl
Lunch break
Chairperson: 16877
13:30–13:45 |
Francesca Viterbo, Kelly Mahoney, Laura Read, Fernando Salas, Bradford Bates, Jason Elliott, Brian Cosgrove, Aubrey Dugger, David Gochis, and Robert Cifelli
Chairperson: 16877
13:45–14:00 |
Helen Griffith, Andrew Wade, David Lavers, and Glenn Watts
Chairperson: 16877
14:00–14:15 |
Real-time, operational fluvial flood and storm surge forecasting at global scale: GLOFFIS and GLOSSIS
Jan Verkade, Daniel Twigt, Albrecht Weerts, and Martin Verlaan
Chairperson: 16877
Long Range Predictions
Chairperson: 16877
14:15–14:30 |
Marie-Amélie Boucher, Rachel Bazile, and Catherine Guay
Chairperson: 16877
14:30–14:45 |
Alison Rudd, Rhian Chapman, Victoria Bell, Nicky Stringer, and Jeff Knight
Chairperson: 16877
14:45–15:00 |
Massimiliano Zappa, Norina Andres, Luzi Bernhard, Konrad Bogner, Manuela Brunner, Käthi Liechti, Angela Thür, and Manfred Stähli
Chairperson: 16877
15:00–15:15 |
Delphine Leroux, Simon Munier, Florence Habets, François Besson, Fabienne Rousset, Patrick Le Moigne, Jean-Pierre Vergnes, Pascal Viennot, Pierre Etchevers, and Nadia Amraoui
Chairperson: 16877
15:15–15:30 |
Rafael Rosolem, Mostaquimur Rahman, Stamatis Batelis, Ross Woods, Stefan Kollet, and Thorsten Wagener
Chairperson: 16877
Poster pitches (15:30-15:36, 6 posters)

Supporters & sponsors